Run Bernie, Run !

Brain Dropping #113 – Run Bernie, Run!

When I ran for the Vermont State Senate as a Progressive way back then, I decided those ubiquitous lawn and roadside election signs stuck in the ground, were pitifully small and ineffective.  And they had no information on them other than the name of the candidate.  I fell back on my skill as a sign painter and made yellow, paper banners twenty feet long, coated with a clear acrylic glaze and reinforced with packing tape. (My wife Gail started Gemini signs thirty years before and was far more skilled than I.)  I pounded three foot grading stakes into the ground, and used stovepipe wire tied to smaller stakes, to keep the banners from being blown away.  Most importantly, they carried not only my name but a succinct phrase about an issue the voters were concerned with, in bold, eight inch black block letters: “GET THE PROPERTY TAX OFF OUR BACKS – AL SALZMAN FOR STATE SENATE!  For paper banners they were surprisingly durable – the three coats of acrylic glaze and three layers of clear packing tape did the job. Running as a Progressive in a conservative place like Franklin County got me nowhere, but I did get about twelve hundred votes and met a lot of ‘interesting’ people.
I’m going to go back to the paper banner strategy to try to get Senator Bernie Sanders to run for President of the United States.  I believe that he is among the very few sane people in the loony bin we call Congress.(Elizabeth Warren is another.)  Not only sane, but consistently on the side of the working class and vocally against the “millionaires and billionaires” who are destroying our society and any hope of a decent life for hundreds of millions.  I haven’t decided on a pithy phrase to put on the banner.  Perhaps: RUN BERNIE,RUN – WE’RE SICK AND TIRED OF SHITTY CHOICES!

Leave a Reply

